American Legend Records Holder Mary Decker-Slaney

For over 4 decades Mary Decker-Slaney has held the American Record (just in case you want to know in what: 3:57.12 in the women’s 1500 meter, 4:16.71 in the women’s mile, and 8:25.83 in the women’s 3000 meter) while many others have tried to match or come close to her record times. Among the many accolades that she has amazingly accomplished, she, at 50 years young, still desires to run–not jog. “There’s a difference”, she says astutely. Despite all her injuries and surgeries, she still “jogs” at a 7 1/2 minute mile pace. Furthermore, she will soon undergo more surgery, this time a calf surgery, so that she can return to running. Anyone who has ever competed or run seriously as part of a lifestyle like Mary and I, we would all know of the lure and attraction that running offers. Among the myriads of personal growth and other obvious benefits, and of course, to my humble chagrin the obvious physical pain, the stress, the mental hurt, but by far, for me at least, Mary says it best, “the exhileration” is what would attract runners. Will she ever again compete at the master’s level? Time will tell, literally. But what’s most important for our legend, Mary says, “It’s always something I thought I would be doing my entire life. Just for fitness. Just for peace of mind. Just because that’s what I like to do”. But for every other runner, and as supporters of the sport, we’ll just have to wait and cheer her on from the sidelines.


fitness_mary-decker

February 3, 2009. Captured Event.

2 Comments

  1. john replied:

    I remember Mary’s Slaney’s fall in an Olympic meet, the one which broke thoudands of hearts. I remember the tumble until this day, and the cry. Truly heart breaking.

  2. sub4 replied:

    I remember it, too. I was hoping she could run a second heat (if there was one at the time).

Leave a comment

Trackback URI